Foundationalism or Coherence theory of justification??

I’m curious to hear everyone’s thoughts on these theories. I am studying these theories in my theory of knowledge class and I am more persuaded by the coherentist position. How can we have any non-inferentially justified beliefs when every “self-presenting” experience we have must be based on some further beliefs about our current state of consciousness, etc? I think our belief system is just a web of beliefs stemming off of these basic beliefs about our current states of mind, and even these beliefs must be justified by further beliefs. This poses the question however that if none of our beliefs are non-inferentially justified, how can we have any justified beliefs at all?

I would say that each system has its own uses…

could you be more specific?

The problem with coherence theory is that it limits justification to only beliefs. Beliefs are justified only by other beliefs. And those beliefs by other beliefs, and so forth. It has no room for experience. I can have a perfectly coherent theory about people existing on mars; you know, their culture, what they breathe, eat, their religion, morals, etc, but one would be hesitant to say I’m justified in believing there are people on mars. Also, another problem with coherence theory is that it transmits error throughout the system. If for example my current belief about my ex being a crazy bitch turns out to be a bad one, then my whole system of beliefs inherits this dent, and that just doesn’t seem right. It doesn’t seem right to say that my belief about something existing is less justified just because I also believe that my ex was a crazy bitch, yet this is exactly what is implied by coherence theory.