Paraphilosophy and Reality

Pursuant to current tangents…

There’s a real question whether this thread ought be in Mundane Babble, as it is something of a defense of mundane babble, as a philosophical enterprise. But I will risk it being considered philosophical proper.

If I were once aspiring to be a Medical Doctor, I now work as an EMT. Or is it I were a psychologist, and now bust ghosts? Neither, I think, connects directly to what might be meant by Paraphilosophy, perhaps. Paramedicine implies emergency field work. But the field of Philosophy is one broad emergence already, is it not? Parapsychology implies fringe pseudoscience, as opposed to real pseudoscience. Ok. Maybe it’s more like that. Maybe I’m living out a Harold Ramis role.

To be clear, though, and while I have my share of experiences I’ve put on the wtf shelf, I have no standing belief in the paranormal.

I was relatively straightlaced Philosophy in my MA. My doctoral studies occured in an Interdisciplinary context (Social & Political Thought at York University, being a program that arose out of the ashes of Rochdale College), but were essentially a Neo-Continental Philosophy extravaganza. I coined it “Paraphilosophy” at the time, and eventually dropped-out (such being a prerequisite of the Rochdale spirit).

As philosophy became para-science, Heidegger began calling himself simply a Theorist or was it Thinker… I forget. In that sense, anyhow, he agreed with many of his critics.

But what is it to be a Philosopher, if it is not to be a Theorist? As Physics allows for the longer stretches of String Theory, does it thereby permit paraphysics?

Perhaps, then, so too Philosophy ought permit it’s weirder strands of thinking (wherewith, of course, weird refers to Norse destiny).

The question, then, is whether Paraphilosophy is real Philosophy. I adamantly say yes, though I claim that that reality is a fuzzy one. How bout you?