Philosophy; a layman's perspective

Hi friends,

The discussion in the thread ‘The serious discussion sub forum’ inspired me to write this post.

This post is not something that came last night in my mind but the summery or recollection of thoughts those roamed around me since last couple of years. Thus, it bound to be a bit lengthy than normal ones. I expect the members to bear with me.

I do not have any hesitation in accepting that I am a layman regarding philosophy and unfortunately one of those ignorant millions, who use to live in this very world, where philosophers also use to spend their precious time. In last two years, since when I started visiting philosophy forums, some basic questions constantly haunted me.

What is philosophy?
What is its purpose or duty?
What it has for a layman like me
?

I have master degree in economics so I can consider myself literate at least, if not intellectual. Furthermore, I am a curious person and very fond of reading as well. But unfortunately, till the age of 46, I was not aware of even one of those great philophers, who are being discussed intensely on philosophy forums. So, I asked myself; why I am so ignorant? I came to know about Einstein and Newton at the age of 15-16 so why it took me 30 more years to know about Kant?

I started to read him and other prominent philosophers and found that they are not less worth knowable than prominent scientists. I raised this inquiry at the forums and the answer I got indirectly is that the onus of knowing is on folks as modern philosophers are more elevated than to pay attention at these petty issues. This response surprised me because, as a layman, I had the impression in my mind that they are doing all this for folks, just like the other streams of knowledge use to do. This fact enlightened me with the true wisdom of contemporary philosophy that they are engaged in something so discrete and extraordinary, that is even not meant for humans.