Play any instruments?

I’m assuming that among the artsy-fartsy philosophic types here that there must be at least a handfull of musicians.

Who plays an instrument? Does anyone play in a band that gigs?

What kind of equipment do you use and how long have you been playing?

What kind of stuff do you like to play? What are your influences?

I’ve played the guitar since I was about 13, and I love the blues, some funk, and alot of old stuff like Led Zep, SRV, Hendrix and some of the old school chili peppers and sublime. When I started playing all my friends and I listened to were bands like Metallica, (I can play almost everything they recorded), and Megadeth and Slayer. Also Guns N’ Roses were a big influence. I can play almost all of appetite for destruction. I think that “jam bands” suck, even though I can easily improvise for an indefinite period of time, and might be able to entertain a barroom crowd of people who normally listen to that stuff.

Just thought I’d start a thread for the musicians here. That’s my post up there ^. Now make your own.

Clarinet. Every now and then I will play at weddings but that is extremely rare. I only get to play chassidic music, but honestly, I like it more than other types. Guess it’s just what you grow up with.

Good stuff guys. What sort of things do you guys like to play? I bet there’s some people on here that are really talented.

I used to play the violin pretty well, playing in the usual classical stuff in orchestras. But as a silly teenager I gave it up. Would like to pick it up again one day.

Other than that, if decks class as an instrument, I can mix pretty well, mainly drum n bass n trance.

Two instruments I´ve always wanted to play are the piano and saxophone, mmmm

I play root note blues on the bass… (I can play almost anything)

heavy influence from cliff williams, lemmy & geezer (and of course derek smalls)

haven’t gigged in about 12 years

-Imp