Aikido

Not sure if this is the right forum for this (!), but I figure they don’t call them “martial arts” for nothing :slight_smile:

I recently started Aikido, and it’s largely what I expected. If you’ve seen any Steven Seagal movies, you’ve seen some Aikido. It has a distinctive look, with practitioners flowing smoothly through opponents who flip and roll seamlessly back to a ready stance. The flow results from two facts that I can tell so far:

1. Aikido is a grappling art. I’m still a beginner, but even observing high ranked students, I haven’t seen any emphasis on striking (punching, kicking, etc). Instead, the focus is on grabs, locks, arm bars, and throws. A result of this is that there are few natural stopping points: techniques they can turned into a pin, but they are often left as throws or take-downs that leave the practitioner in a stance to keep moving.

2. Though I’ve been incorrectly referring to the person doing the throw as the “practitioner,” both the thrower and the person being thrown are practicing Aikido. A big part of the early education is learning to fall and roll. This adds to the flowiness, because demonstrations will involve people who are practiced in turning a throw into a roll and returning quickly to a ready position.