A Defense of Moral Objectivism

The HTML version of this essay, which I wrote for my freshman philosophy class a few weeks ago (I am a newbie), is available at the following link. I prefer you read it there rather than in this post, because the HTML crap (like the footnote links and bulleted lists and whatnot) did not survive when I pasted them here.

angelfire.com/biz2/sexydood/philpaper1.html

The question of whether or not our ethical judgments have an objective basis is a question that has been grappled with intensely since the time of Plato. There has been a great deal of literature produced on the subject and the avenues of argumentation that have been pursued are copious in number. It would be a task that is beyond the scope of this paper to consider all the positions that have been ably defended by their respective adherents and to answer every possible objection that could be raised to the ideas that I develop. However, it is my goal to defend a modest form of moral objectivism (or “moral realism”, if you like) and address some of the most common objections leveled against moral objectivism by relativists or other noncongnitivists in general.