A question of Ethics

I have a question that involves ethics.

The situation

If you know someone is stealing, the best thing in your mind is to be ethical and tell the truth. But what if your jobis on the line, is it un-ethical on your part to hold the truth from your employer?

Sincerly yours
Platonotplaydough

PS: I’m just getting into philosophy and I feel like I’m on a rollercoaster, but it’s an amazing ride and there was never a line up to get on this ride. :smiley:

ethics and laws are in place to preserve the wealth and position of the wealthy and the powerful, but it’s done in such a round about way that it becomes circumstancial…so, change your circumstance, serve yourself, look after your own interest to the best of your ability. If ethics and law, and the enforcement thereof overlap your best interests, only then would I say do the ethical thing. The more effort you put into serving yourself and subverting law and ethics you’ll find the less they will overlap.

Thanks for answering.

Well, since I’m a noncognitivist, I don’t think “Stealing is wrong” is meaningful. It just expresses an attitude, like writing the name of the act with exclamation marks attached to it, “Stealing!!” We can emotively Boooo! or Yay! (Thumbs up!) actions, and describe them in naturalistic terms, but adding to them that they are beyond those things GOOD or BAD is nonsense. Think about that and you’ll know what to do.

act in the best interest of humanity

I would suggest it would be moral rather than ethical to act according to an arbitrary standard of justice. To act ethically would require a much more complex response.

I couldn’t agree more. Although I might not be much of a helping hand to you, because stealing doesn’t really mean anything to me. It’s not wrong in my opinion.