Arete, a board game on Ancient Philosophy

(Not sure if I just forgot to hit submit last night or if it got deleted [if the latter I would appreciate a PM directing me to all the rules and regulations regarding initial posts, thanks])

Hello All,

A bit about myself (short, I promise): I am an undergraduate in philosophy at the University of Las Vegas, Nevada. I really like philosophy and wanted to contribute something to this world related to it, but being a pretty mediocre philosopher myself I decided to make a game instead of publishing on it or teaching it to others.

I originally posted the game at the “Works in Progress” section of the Board Game Geeks discussion forums, and I would greatly appreciate it if any of you philosophers, majors and enthusiasts would at least check it out. I’ve also put up the game for “Print and Play” free of charge, for those interested.

boardgamegeek.com/thread/150216 … and-athens

To those who have studied Greek or devoted their lives to it, I will make this disclaimer: I caved into peer pressure while having people play test the game and used an upper-case delta as an ‘A’ in the title design. However, as an excuse (not a justification), I will say that “Elysium” takes this form of artistic license to even more egregious heights (though their game is a lot more fun).

Any questions, comments and/or criticisms are welcomed; I’ll even take hate speech.

Thanks for looking!

Umm…

I saw you had a listing of cards for pupils. Do the philosophers Gay-Rape their pupils in the game, like they did in real life?

No, the game has been adequately sanitized for modern consumption, though you may take me to task on ‘adequately’ and ‘modern’.

I don’t know if I can play it then, takes the realism away, less interesting.

How about, you roll the dice, if you get a two, you get tagged team, rough in the butt, by Aristotle and Theophrastus.