Aristotle's "time has no beginning"

Hi there,

I’m new to philosophy, taking my first course in philosophy in university ‘Metaphysical structures of the world’… wow a hard first up topic in philosophy.

Lets say if I argue against there being a first cause to the universe, starting with trying to prove that time extends infinitely into the past, and thus it has no beginning and no first cause.

Aristotle claims that every instant in time ‘t’, has a moment immediately before ‘t’ and a moment immediately after ‘t’. Therefore, there cannot be a beginning to time, as that moment when time began would have been preceeded immediately by another point in time. Thus, our arbitrary instant when time began was not the first moment of time after all.

How would you argue against and for Aristotle’s point of view here?

Please try to explain it simply for me, I’m still learning the ‘phil lingo’ :slight_smile:

Hi David. I’d love to help you, but we have a rule here not to do people’s homework for them. I did take Aristotle in college, however, and will help you where I can without doing all your work for you. : )

First, I don’t recognise the arguments you bring up: they sound more physical than metaphysical, and i recommend you go to your college library and find Aristotle’s Physics. I think the topic is handled in Chapter VIII. It would help if your teacher gave you the line number for reference. (I could refer to it better.) Actually, I don’t recognise the arguments as Aristotelian, but in any case, Aristotle speaks of God as cause of the world in several ways.