Can Philosophers be Lawyers?

I’m will enter university in 2 years (1 more year of high school left). My passion is cognitive neuroscience research, that’s what I want to do for a living and I intend to major in Neuroscience in psychology.

It’s just… neuroscience is hard. They make you take hard classes that I might flunk out of…

If that’s the case, is it possible to major in philosophy and then get into a good law school? It’s a contingency plan I’ve dreamed up, in case Organic Chemistry decides to terminate my dreams.

Most jurors probably don’t appreciate Nietzsche references…

I am not familiar with the american system but it is very normal for philosophy graduates to become lawyers/solicitors in the UK. It is seen as one of the best non law subjects you can do before doing a law conversion course.

I honestly know nothing about the subject. I don’t know any law majors so I have no idea…

Mostly the same over here.

One of my friends is a geology major and he’s going into law. I find that interesting…

This is complete hearsay, but a friend of mine told me that philosophy majors score second highest, on average, on the LSATs. The highest, so says my mate, is physics.
But I’m positive that philosophy is a good precursor to law. It exercises your arguing skills.

To my knowledge philosophy is, along with history, one of the main subjects for lawyers to study at undergraduate level.

I had read that Philosophy majors score the highest on the GRE. I didn’t read the stats on the LSAT. Good luck! :slight_smile: