Can the functionalists account for qualia?

I am a serious philosophy student currently doing a dissertation on “Can the functionalists account for qualia?”. I would appreciate any informed, intelligent discussion on the matter, from either philosophy under/graduates or academic philosophers. Below is my general line (thesis as yet being undeveloped.)

Chalmers asks us to distinguish the ‘hard’ and ‘easy’ problems of consciousness. The easy problems conscern how to explain the various functional aspects of ‘consciousness’; such as the difference between being awake and being asleep. However, the ‘hard’ problems of consciousness to not concern the explanation of how the various functions are performed, but ask: why are these functions associated with conscious experience? No amount of explanation in terms of function can detail/ reveal an answer to this question, as at greater levels of functional complexity, the same question is still lurking.

The type-A materialist wants to say that once we have explained how the various functions are performed, there is NO further ‘hard’ QUESTION. This seems to deny the obvious however. Type-B materialism tries to say that we will be able to give a functional definition of consciousness, but we just lack the mental concepts currently.(see Nagel, 1974). This seems to be at best a HOPE, and In my view philosophy shouldn’t rest on hopes.

Overall, there so not seem to be any actual ARGUMENTS for why once we have explained the functions, we have explained everything in the vicinity, with regard to consciousness. If anyone can tell me of any, that would be interesting to consider.

In addition to problem for functionalis/physicalism brought on as a result of the distinction between the two types of problem, there are many other problems. But I will leave it there for now, so that my interlocuters can have more of a focus for there contributions. I will try to respond promptly, and within 1 day. Many thanks.

David

Hi David