Freud and the sex drive

I was thinking about Freud and his view that underlying all our behavior is the fundamental drive of the sexual instinct. So everything we do is done in the service of the libido. I’ve always thought of this is ridiculous. I’m a computer programmer. I find it utterly absurd to think that the reason I spent $20,000 and 4 long years in university, and then plugged myself into the system where I work 8 hours a day, 5 days of the week, and will go on doing so for the rest of my life, is because I’m horny. But because I can’t just have sex whenever and wherever I want, with whomever I want, I’m forced to substitute this itch by becoming a computer programmer (maybe unconsciously I feel that I can impress the ladies with my geeky programming skills).

But then a whole different perspective on Freud’s idea occurred to me, and it doesn’t seem so far fetched. Tell me what you think.

By saying “everything we do is done in the service of the libido”, Freud may not have intended for this to be taken as “sex is what’s driving us to do what we do”; perhaps the “service” that all our behavior and other (non-sexual) drives are in is simply survival, and that the sexual drive is simply the most important for this goal. Also, if we take into consideration that “survival” is not really survival of the individual, but the species as a whole, then we see how all these drives fall into place, the sexual drive taking the lead roll.