Have you seen 'I heart Huckabees'?

I just saw this movie last night and was completely intrigued (thats actually what prompted me to come here) and being a newbie I was just wondering what everyone who has seen it thought about it and the ideas/beliefs they talk about. Also, what exactly is extentialism?

Existentialism stresses freedom of choice for the individual to make of their life what they will. It is about the absurdity and unexplainable parts of life.

The movie came to me at the perfect time. I have been in a battle between “nihilisim”(belief that nothing matters) and the Buddhist-like ideas that everything is connected.

Reading Nietzsche, Kafka, and Dostoyevsky, I have been finding that I can never escape the human drama, and will be sucked back into pointless relationships, only to destruct them later to preserve this belief that nothing matters.

The movie touched on this alot, and finally made me realize that after going to the extreme with both philosophies, they both have their merits and must be balanced.

So we live in a world where nothing on the surface matters, and that most are trapped within, but even when escaping all of this and looking at things from Dustin Hoffman’s point of view, you can find peace of mind…but so many more questions lol.

Existentialism is a word loosely applied to a group running from Kierkegaard to Sartre. It contains a huge amount of diversity, no two of the big names agree on all the major points, which include whether or not there is such a thing as an individual, whether such an individual is or can be free, whether meaning is in the world or is created by the individuals being conscious of it…

Walter Kaufmann’s collection Existentialism from Dostoevsky to Sartre was very useful for me, and it contains some Kierkegaard, Nietzsche, Rilke, Kafka, Jaspers, Heidegger, Sartre and Camus.

My copy was published by Meridian Books