Heaven forfend! I'm a Postmodernist!

Before I begin this, my first foray into the forum, let me introduce myself. I am a student at a liberal arts college, and I am a philosophy major. I’ve been planning this (coming here and majoring in philosophy) for around three years now.

Prior to coming here, I was studying what amounts to the most analytic of analytic philosophy (think Allan Bloom,) and was remarkably set against the “European types.” I confess that was of the sort that snickered at Derrida’s obituaries and would’ve written snide letters if possible. I adored Alan Sokal and loved characterizing those “pomos” as a bunch of pernicious, pretentious nihilists.

(Since then, I’ve been roundly disabused of the notion that “continental” and “analytic” or “anglophone” is a binary opposition - I’ve even come to think of Strauss as a bit continental.)

I’ve been here only two weeks, and am taking fairly rudimentary classes (Logic, and something on Kant.) Despite that, I’ve taken a sudden, strong interest in continental philosophers, particularly so-called postmodernists.

As I’ve said, this was a great change for me, and one I’m not sure I can really explain. Is it that being in a new situation has made me more open-minded? Is it the clove cigarettes? Yesterday, I spent two hours with some people in the basement of the library with a bag of popcorn and a soda, watching the documentary Derrida. For whatever reason, I’ve got a sudden urge to read Heidegger; I even tried to get into a 400-level class on the man, but it was full, and now I’m just trying to read Being and Time on my own.