Hello! New to ILP. :)

(Also posted on the Pol/Econ board)

Hello!

My name is Samantha (Sam), and I’m new to ilovephilosophy.com. I’m an 18 year old student in the UK, and have just applied to university, mainly to study Politics. However, one course is also coupled with Philosophy and Economics, and all the courses involve some sort of Political Philosophy module. So, my interests lie in improving my understanding of Philosophy, and in particular Political Philosophy.

In my personal statement on my university application form, I mentioned an argument I’d read involving private property. I have read quite a lot of the “right to property?” discussion here, but would be grateful if anyone could provide me with any more material for food for thought. Any books, too?

Thanks everyone. If you have time, leave a short reply describing yourself.

Hey Sam, welcome to ILP.com. I hope you receive as much enjoyment and mental satisfaction as I have received here with my interactions with the many scholars you will find here.

To give you a brief introduction to the author of these words I will take you through my philosophical journey.

I was born in the Dominican Republic and raised, since I was two, in the streets of New York City. As I matured I was heavily influenced by the hip hop culture around me. I started watching Star Trek when I was seven and I was hooked ever since, and seriously that is where my love for wisdom started. If there are any trekkies out here, you will know that alot of Star Trek episodes are very philosophical, well at least to me.