Is it hip to be square?

After all the Huey Lewis talk, I was running today and got to thinking about that. In this world of crazy people how many people are actually square? Even priests can’t be trusted. Personally, I think the more open you are even with your children, you get more respect than if you “pretend” you didn 't have sex or smoke pot. I mean really - I graduated from high school during Woodstock and do you think I am gonna play the game of mummy the nun?

Sex. I think it it hip to be square on this one. You have to be out of your mind to have sex with a million people but if you do you better use a condom. I told my boys from the time they were in junior high if they were going to take it out they better wrap it up. It was a little over the top, but I made my point when I bought them a gross of them. Is there a double standard with my daughter? No. Not in my house. If she turns into a lapdancer I wouldn’t be thrilled but it is her life - not mine and at least she will be alive.

Health. I think it is hip to be healthy - quit smoking, exercise and keep your weight down… eat crap so you don’t deprive yourself, but be healthy. Is it hip to be healthy? yes. I wish LA would chime in on holistic health here (are you still talking to me?) because so much of our culture is about quick fixes with medicines when a decent diet can fix what ails you. I do wonder about the pesticides on the vegetables but you can’t seem to win. Don’t know much about organics but should look into it. So little time so much to read about. Speaking of which…