Is logic 'out there' or is it invented?

In case this sounds naiive, perhaps I should start by saying I am a novice in philosophical matters. I am trying to decide whether ‘reason’ (i.e. the rules by which we argue) is something empirical that we have discovered, rather than something that is socially constructed. I am asking this because, when arguing some point, I am often faced with assertions such as ‘oh, that’s just your logic…’, as if the rules of inference and deduction are something we humans have invented. My own intuition is that although ‘logic’ is something invented, logic is just a formalism of something that is out there and independent of humans.

I’m sure this is something that must have been thought about but I don’t know where to look. I have seen a quote from Descartes, which says ‘Whether I am awake or asleep, two and three added together are five…’, which seems like it might be about such issues, but I don’t know the context of the quote. Most of what I have read seems to assume that the rules of reasoning are simply taken for granted. I wonder if this is because they are self-evidently universal, and that this needs no justification.

Can anyone help me out?

There is the definitional, relative, understood logic and there is the ideal, absolute, and known logic. The first is what we work with and the second is what we strive for. It’s like beauty: there is what we see in the real world with all it’s limitations, but there is also the ideal upon which the real is based. So the answer to your question is “both.” Definitional logic is understood but not known. Ideal logic is known but not understood. As we “progress” (I hate that word) we move from the former to the latter but get no closer to anything. As we move forward, shit falls off the back and we forget about it. It becomes more shit we still know but no longer understand.