multiple dimensions as explanation of the supernatural

are multiple dimensions just a theory

• yes
  • no
  • don’t know
0 voters

I voted ‘don’t know’ in the poll. I’m not an expert, but from what I’ve been reading scientist are trying find prove for this theory.

My thought is ‘what if?’. If they do exist, would that make a change?

Tuihu,

I found this web site that might shed a little more information upon the subject.

pbs.org/wgbh/nova/elegant/dimensions.html

It would probably only change the lives of interested physicists at first and then maybe in 200 years or so they might come up with a technological breakthrough so vast and far reaching that it would change humanity for all time.

Of course they are just a theory. Time is just a theory. Three space is just a theory. (see the flatlands argument)

Many worlds is a very good theory… to place causation in the realm of the fifth dimension brings us much closer to understanding reality and how it relates to our everyday lives. However, through the method of memory, we conceptualize time. How does one conceptualize causation? Only through the manipulation of memory. Heh, as is said, “Woulda, shoulda, coulda”. Unless we can rip a hole through causation, Many Worlds is merely a theory.

I believe I can understand every single one of these 10 dimensions required. I believe they manifest themselves in our observable reality. I believe Many Worlds is a good idea. But… it’s wrought with problems… both physical and metaphysical. If Many Worlds exists, then we MUST have “souls”.

ilovephilosophy.com/phpbb/vi … 79&start=0

(above thread’s discussion was cut off by the database rollback)

Most of us can accept four dimensions. A fifth could harbor unexplainable things, like souls, aliens, telepathy and so on. Going to ten is not needed in this stage :sunglasses: . Knowing that there is more than four is a breakthrough big enough.