Music and Philosophy

Hello Everyone,

I was wondering if I could rely on the expertise on everyone out here. I am a teacher that teaches introductory philosophy and was wondering if anyone out there knew of any great websites or knew of any great books of that matter that talk about linking pop music to particular philosophical theories or philosophers.

I know Open Court Press is about to release Hip Hop and Philosophy in the fall but was wondering if anyone knew of any other great resources.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Cheers,

CanadianPhilosopher

everything is linked to a theory.

Plenty of philosophers makes use of music - Nietzsche refers to it continuously, Derrida makes it a central metaphor. As to people who’ve actually theorised on music (in particular pop music), just look up cultural theorists and music, rather than philosophy and music, you’ll probably find a dozen high profile books.

maybe this will help:

http://bookshop.blackwell.co.uk/bobuk/scripts/search_results.jsp

tried to send you a link but it only went to the fint page.

go to blackwells.co.uk

then go to humanities

then philosophy.

then in the search bar look for music (search by keyword) and it comes up with a few interesting looking books… like:

Of Mind and Music
Addis, Laird
Cornell University Press
ISBN: 0801489563

Introduction to a Philosophy of Music
Kivy, Peter
Oxford University Press Clarendon Press
ISBN: 0198250487

Contemporary Philosophy of Music
Sharpe, R A
Acumen Publishing Ltd Acumen Publishing
ISBN: 1844650014

Nietzsche and Music
Liebert, Georges
University of Chicago Press UNIV OF CHICAGO PR
ISBN: 0226480879

Music and Morals
Haweis, H R
University Press of the Pacific INTL LAW & TAXATION PUBL
ISBN: 1410203379

…and so on…

dunno x