New to Philosophy

Hey all, I don’t know if this is anywhere on the board, but I’m new to philosophy and don’t know where to start. Are there any good general books for beginners? I bought The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin, but not too sure if it’s philosophy, I guess it could be considered evolutionary philosophy. I’ve heard of a few different philosphers, Aristotle, Voltaire, and Socrates, but I eventually want to get into the lesser known philosophers too. I’ve always been interested in studying philosophy, just other things took precedance. Now I’ve got time to look into it and I’m totally overwhelmed by it all. Any help as to where to start would be appreciated! My e-mail is justin_lundeen@hotmail.com. Thanks!

J/

Others declaring themselves to be philosophical newbies have preceeded you on this board. You might look for their posts. (Although have we not all been philosophers since birth?!)

I remember posting as a response a long MA reading list with lots of notable name philosophers.

If you want the big names, you might look at who is read in “Great Books” programs: mercer.edu/gbk/gbk/othergbk.html They probably list the books on their sites. If you have not been to college yet (or even if you have) you might consider entering one of these programs as they should help you digest their works.

Vale bene, (Be well)
mrn

Start with the basics of analytical philosophy, not with difficult original works. I read a few chapters in Introduction to Philosophical Analysis by John Hospers, and it seemed quite good. Another book thats often recommended to beginners is Bertrand Russell’s Problems of Philosophy, but I haven’t read that one. I’m sure there are plenty more and maybe better. Check out the home pages of philosophy departments at universities. I’m sure they have listed the literature for introductory courses.

Again, start with basics, do not start with too difficult books. It doesn’t matter how intelligent you are, you won’t understand.