Philosophies of Time

In historical studies much is presently being made of “presence” and efforts are being made to define it, which inevitably involves some grasping with the philosophies of time. In this spirit, I would like to ask what some of you think about time and how it might be defined.

Some starting points might perhaps include “clock time”, or measured time, which separates into years, days, minutes, seconds, etc. - and, I am dimly aware (please correct me if I am wrong here, I am no scientist), has important links with physical measurments at the thermodynamic and atomic levels. I am intrigued here by the potential interaction between organic and social conceptions and systems of measurement.

Another approach might be to consider a more abstract, philosophical conception of time, like Bergson’s “duration”, which, I think, can be seen as a flow of time, a never-ending experience of change.

We might also want to think about a classification of time into periods, ages or epochs, for example, which allow us to conceptualise and pigeon-hole lengths of time for the purposes of historical, anthropological and paleontological understanding.

There will, I am sure, also be many more philosophies of time, drawing on chemistry, psychology, economics or mathematics, to name just a few potential sources of interest. I await your response with interest!

:-$

I don’t know about all that. But time from a subjective experience is interesting, how and why does time fly when you’re having fun?

Perhaps fun is something which can only be had in a fleeting way - it “comes and goes”. Also, perhaps we could say fun is a kind of lightness (hence its ephemerality) that is constantly “flitting around”, like an insect or a bird. Alternatively, fun might be something which “lifts you up” or “sweeps you off your feet”.