Sense of Honor

Are you a Samurai or a Ninja?

• Samurai
  • Ninja
  • Neither
  • I hate thirst!
0 voters

From your own perspective, what do you think of religious codes of honor?
Do you have a sense of honor?
Do you consider honor a religious concept?

Let’s chat.

-Thirst

I am an honor lead being and I do not need religion in any sense to obtain it. I come from an Eastern background where I studied bushi and often the most useful remnant of religion was a brief touching of Buddhist ideals to remain unattached to this life. But then again we come to the question of words and ask “What is honor?”.

Religion is useful for those who lack their own internalized sense of honor. Sort of “The Idiot’s Guide to Honor.” :slight_smile:

I will admit…I giggled like a school girl.

I have a sense of protocol, definitely, but ninja and samuri are very limiting options, really.

Ninjas are just feudal assassins & spies from Japan.

Chivalry, in its many forms, sounds to me like an idealism, anyways. It’s like submission to the human lords and ladies, quite religious, IMO.

I do not believe in worship, at all.

“Worship” is so rediculus and petty, if you really look at it…

I have a feeling that a sense of honour is needed like a clothesline, or perhaps a spine, in order to have something to hang everything else on.

Without a sense of honour, which is in my view a self-declared statute of limitations with regard to behaviour, a person remains ‘unpredictable’ and therefore in the eyes of society and/or other individuals - untrustworthy - and in the extreme, mad, bad and dangerous to know.

Of course, wether or not a person would, or even could, adhere to their consciously delineated sense of honour whatever the circumstance or situation is another kettle of turnips altogether.

Perhaps all that is required is to say you have a sense of honour, then cough uncertainly when Mr Push and Mr. Shove make their presence known.