Shameless self-promotion

On August 16, as far as I know, I will be doing my first ever internet radio show, which is slated to air weekdays at 9:00 am (UTC - 5 hours, or EDT). I have never done anything like this before, so it might suck. But feel free to call in and harass me. We won’t be talking philosophy, except that everything is philosophy. Here’s the link to the website:

hurricaneradio.net/

I am not the Hurricane, by the way.

I need topics. Please give me some suggestions.

Bookmarked and ready to be entertained! Sounds like a sweet gig, Faust.

You’ll hate my topic suggestion, but it’s a surefire pander to the para-intellectual crowd: Nothing.

The Seinfeldians will swarm you. I, of course, would be in there like a dirty shirt (assuming I’m back from doing nothing on vacation, and that my wife is out shopping or something…).

Alternatively: Windows. Do we need them any more. What’s there to look at independent of the Screen?

Lower back pain?

Any sense of who the audience is going to be?

I checked the link and all I got was coming soon. So what is the general hook? Who are you planning to talk to? It’s a bit difficult to suggest topics unless the answer is “everything”.

I think the audience will be fairly young. 20’s-30’s. The owner of the station will have two shows - he’s 39 and had a following on a local AM station until recently. I want to focus on the arts, going out, food and drink, maybe travel. Having fun. Hanging out. I think I’ll have a weekly feature with a beer expert, recommending some esoteric beer or other to try. I’m going to try to find a chef for a quick cooking tip, weekly. I’ll have local musicians on - want to have some live, in-studio music no one has ever heard of. Just one song, just quick. I’m going to pick a word from urban dictionary to discuss. Try to do some comedy, some satire. I want to talk about your downtown - why you go, why you don’t. Tattoos. Stupid Massachusetts gun laws. Facebook. Maybe some waiter rants.