Some logic questions.

For those short on time, please skip to the summary.

Sorry, I’ll refrain from using logic symbols, in hopes that (1) it’ll be easier for nonlogicians to give feedback as well, (2) I’ll get my message across without the problem of keyboard complications (symbols don’t work with software / are hard to decipher). (3) I’ll make less mistakes because I’m a rookie.

(1) True or false? The equivalence (or biconditional) is the same as: A conditional (If A then B) followed by the matching negated conditional? (If not A then not B). Thus: Saying “B if and only if A” is the same as saying “If A then B, and if not A then not B”

(2) Is there a term used to separate what I consider “circuit logic” from other propositional logic? To explain: I consider circuit logic to be logic based on output results from a given input. (Not necessarily circuit as in computer chip). Put something in: You automatically get something out. For example: In circuit logic, you can’t have a disjunction (“Either A or B”) because you can’t be sure which one it’ll be. Instead, you use something like quantifier logic like “Pxab”: P meaning “prefers” and thus: “x prefers a over b” or “Given the choice between a or b, x will always choose a.”

(3) Can logic use letters to abbreviate a proposition by representing it using a colon? For example: Would it make sense to other logicans if I said. “A: X and Y.” And further on I said “A or B” meaning “(X and Y) or B”

(4) Edward DeBono published a book called “Water logic.” In this book, he said that his main point is to introduce a new symbol to logic which simply means “to” or “leads to” Do you think he’s right? Let me elaborate.

A contributes to B. I can’t say the equivalent in propositional logic such as “If A then B” and I also can’t say the equivalent in predicate logic such as “Most As are Bs.” I can come close in quantifier logic by saying “Cab” with C meaning “contributes to” therefore: “A contributes to B.”