what does this mean

Alexander the Great said “I don’t fear an army of lions, led by a sheep; i fear an army of sheep, led by a lion”.

The quote almost seems absurd. I would never fear an army of sheep, led by a lion. The lion yes, the sheep no.

I’m a writer, and an editor asked me if i knew what that quote meant because i used it in a story. she felt that i should at least, know what it means if i’m going to use.

Anybody have any ideas?

it’s the leader that makes all the difference, is what the quote implies to me. like, no matter how strong the soldiers are, if the leader is weak, the army is weak, and if the leader is strong, the army is strong.

Yeah, what Humpty said. The quote is saying something about the leader. It’s elevating the significance of a leader and the impact he can have on a group. The quote’s saying if the leader is weak, i.e., a sheep, then his army won’t be powerful even if the individual soldiers are strong, and vice versa.

I thought that was self-evident myself, but obviously not to the op author… #-o

What does this one mean - ‘If the cap fits, wear it’?

Should you really wear it? Do you find all appropriately fitted caps in the world and wear them? Is there a specific cap we are referring to? What are the moral consequences? We need to know these things.

Youe explanation seems superficial and shallow - Like taking the easy way out.
CASE IN POINT.

When you ask religious scholars and philosophers what Jesus meant when he was dying. Jesus said “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me”!
Religious scholars and philosophers take the easy way out and say “Well, Jesus took on all the sins of mankind upon himself as he hung on the cross, and God is too Holy to look on sin, so he turned away from Jesus as he was about to die. Jesus felt abandonded.”

This is , of course, a bone headed theory - But that is the answer that has become dogma.