why should a student have to pay attention quietly in class?

why should a student have to pay attention quietly in class. suppose i was a teacher, and a student would rather chat then listen to me, then i punish him…but why…why should he have to listen and pay attention quietly?

Because until children have been socialized properly they are little more than animals.

Freedom of expression is a barking dog, a squawking bird, a screaming fox. Nature must be silenced before civilization can begin.

Because, someone is paying for that education, wether it is a parent or yourself. Distracting others from that paid for education is essentially theft, harrassment. It harms others.

beats paying taxes

-Imp

Nice try.

Why not save the money and not bother in the first place?

This question could only have been asked by someone who has never been a teacher.

Maybe Ice is an undercover teacher looking for sage advice for classroom problems. :smiley:

Hmmm…Ice is back?

Because classrooms are not about freedom. If they were then citizens might actually act like they were free. Schools are for the preparation of a passive public. Get a kid early, make sure he or she knows right off that his or her interests are not important. Do not try to engage their interests, trample on them, stifle them, shut them down. Teach the kids that learning is the absorption of “facts” that other people decide will be placed in their brains. This prepares the children for TV and election campaigns and when administrations want people to go to war.

…college kids are always pro-war, right? It’s a conspiracy, I tells ya.

What they are on either side of the issue is people who are likely to swallow whole the ideas of whomever they respect. They have not been allowed to creatively and dynamically interact with information about ‘the way things are’ and this is shown by the poor thinking in general on both sides of issues.