Organized debate anyone ?

What do you think ?

• Good ideea.
  • Bad ideea.
  • Don’t care.
0 voters

I’m interested in putting together a small but efficient online debate on the issue of theism vs atheism…
I’d like to select 5 theists and 5 atheists to form a decent philosophical debate on the issue.

Also as a referee i suppose SIATD will do because he rarely, if ever, takes sides and he’s fairily intelligent.

Now… please vote if you like the ideea.

For now i’ll be organizing the “atheist” team and i’m asking all the theists here to come up with a temporar leader (as i am aswell).

Then i’d like to see everyone who wishes to join post truthfully a little about himself in this manner:

1. Atheist/Theist
  2. Age/Sex/Location
  3. Education
  4. Religion
  5. Hobbies/General interests
  6. Novice/Amateur/Proffesional in philosophy/theology

Then after a couple of days… me, or someone else will sellect the atheist top 5 and another person will sellect the top 5 theists for the debate.
The debate rules are yet to come out. :smiley:

Any questions ?

I am just wondering which sort of questions exactly will be debated?

Nah, I couldn’t debate it. Theist by feeling but agnostic by intellect.

That is a great idea Carpathian. I am afraid that it would be a bit lop-sided though since it appears to me that the atheists heavily outweigh the theists in these forums. I am a theist, and will remain one until proof suggests otherwise. How would this debate occur? Would it remain in these forums or by instant messaging, and how would other people be spectators or hear about the results?

ILP has it’s own chat room to be found here.

ilovephilosophy.com/ilp_irc.php

A

Sorry to be picky, but if you were really a theist, wouldn´t proof be irrelevent, as your believe is supposed to be based on faith? So which proof HAS led you to be a theist, and which proof could suggest otherwise?

Good observation.