Book Recommendations: Arthur Schopenhauer

Happy Holidays!

For mid-late December holiday (lol) this year I got some money. Rather than spending that money things that I’ll throw away soon, I’ll opt for some books on Schopenhauer, but I don’t know which ones. Here is my list:

The World as Will and Representation, Vol. 1
The World as Will and Representation, Vol. 2
(Is there a difference between either volume? Is the second one jsut a revised edition or part 2?)

[b]Essays and Aphorisms (The Penguin Classics Abridged)
The World As Will and Idea: Abridged in One Volume

The Philosophy of Schopenhauer by Brian Magee[/b]

Now I’m a bit of a beginner. I was introduced to Schopenhauer by reading a book about Nietzsche by Mencken. Other than that, I really have no background on him, but am allured by his philosophy and want to know more. The book by Bryan Magee is the most expensive one out of the lot, about $66 Canadian, is it worth it? What about the other books on the list, as well as those which are not?

Thank you for your time.

`Dend

There is a particular order of philosophers who I consider to be an extended family. In this order they are: Plato, Kant, Schopenhauer, and Nietzsche.

Each one after Plato continued the philosophy of the one before him, but with criticism and further additions.

I would suggest aquainting yourself with each one in this order. But don’t stop with Schopenhauer. By all means continue on with Nietzsche.

$66 Canadian!? Jesus, no wonder you guys are so stupid. Who can afford the damn books?

No, I’m toooootally kidding. :slight_smile:

Oh, I wanted to mention that I stole my Schopenhauer books from the library twelve years ago. I suppose I’ve got one helluva late fee, eh?

Muwahahahaha!!!

Hello Dentritical,

The World as Will and Representation, Vol. 1 and