Moralists- Define your morals. Part B

Hi Joker,

In order to comply with Maytacera’s request I have started this new post.

You can skip this background info and go to Now we are live.

My original post was:

"Hi to all,

I am new to this morality crap. But here goes:

I believe in the morally relativistic Christian Ethic, which I believe to be genetically imprinted as a social herd instinct."

Your response was:

“Christian ethics? Provide evidence for your god.

The social herd instinct can be broken and is not unique or special that people must tie into it. It can be broken.”

My response was:

“Hi Joker,

In an effort to be more nearly certain that we are talking about the same thing, I would like to state the basis for the Christian Ethic.

It goes something like this:

Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, and mind,

And

Love your neighbor as yourself.

Personally, I don’t care how others deal with their spirituality. However, how one deals with one’s neighbors (which I read as others) , is the basis, as I understand it, of all moralities.

The commandment to love your neighbor, despite the fact that love is not well defined in any conventional sense, appears to be much more strenuous than simply protecting ones’ herd. But, I suspect it springs from the same place.

The fact that people or animals frequently don’t behave in an appropriate manner is not surprising.

Thanks for your response.

Ed

P.S. If I were to attack my own position, I would do it on the basis of the vagueness of the word love.”

Then agincourt astutely pointed out:

[b]“The English word Love is vague, the koine greek term Agape which is what is used in this text is not.

Agape means to value the object with enough esteem and care that one would be willing to lay down one’s life to save said object.”[/b]

Your Response to me was:

"So the reason to be moral is because some mystical fantastic god in the sky says so.

Yeah that helps me out alot… "

Now we are live.